WHY ADVERTISE WITH BILLBOARDS:

Billboards Surround Us

You and your customers can hardly get from point A to point B without seeing billboards or other out of home (OOH) advertisements for a variety of products and services. That’s why out of home billboard advertising reaches people no matter how they consume their media. Billboard advertising is effective for building brand awareness and broadcasting your business (or product or campaign) to as many people as possible. Because 4R Outdoor billboards are in such busy areas, they tend to have the highest number of views and impressions when compared to other marketing methods.

ADVERTISING TIPS

Considering we are usually on the move when we read billboards, we don’t have a lot of time to take them in. Six seconds has been touted as the industry average for reading a billboard. So, around six words should get the message across. You can push this to a few more words depending on their length and ease of reading, but as a rule of thumb, less is more here. Shortening your message to 6 words is tough, but headlines that are small paragraphs will not get read. 

Color matters a lot. Keep the colors bright and high contrast — strong and defined so they don’t blend in with the environment around the billboard. Digital (LED) billboards are good because the RGB mode offers a wider array of colors. Make sure to use large, readable font. Make your message POP!

A boring billboard will be ignored. A smart billboard will grab attention and leave a lasting impression. A billboard that’s trying to be too clever will get lost on the audience.

As a rule, you don’t want billboards to make people scratch their heads and wonder what is going on. Complex visual metaphors are no good here. They say advertising should be like a puzzle to solve and should give the audience a sense of fulfillment to know they figured it out. But billboards should be much simpler than that. 

Get creative with your billboard ideas. A flat billboard is standard, but it doesn’t have to be the norm. You can go 3D, have moving parts, have people interacting with it, and even have your billboard animate. There is no reason that it just has to be a large, simple print ad. It is your opportunity to do something eye-catching and memorable, so go for it. 

One of the most parroted pieces of client feedback ever given in advertising is “make the logo bigger.” The reason for that is easy to understand. The client is paying a lot of money to advertise his or her brand and wants the consumers to walk away with that brand planted firmly in their heads. However, there is a balancing act that has to be played. Too big, it’s horsey and distracts from the message. Too small, it’s a clever ad for a brand no one connects with.

So, you have followed all of the rules above. You’ve designed yourself one fantastic billboard. It’s clean, it’s concise, it’s got contrasting colors, it’s interesting, and it will work. But will it be seen? Will it be read, and understood? Here’s a quick test. Print out your billboard to the size of a business card. Now, hold it out at arm’s length. Are you still getting everything you were when it was displayed on your 27-inch monitor? If not, go in and refine it. It needs to pop. And remember, you have roughly 10 seconds to get your message across.

  • Source: PSA Research Center

Our Products

Static Vinyl Billboards

A 4R Outdoor billboard can reach customers your other advertising misses during the 70% of the day your customers are away from home. Static billboards, also known as permanent or traditional bulletins, advertise your message at a fixed location, for the duration of your contract, and are available in many sizes to suit many budgets. These larger than life billboard signs can be found on rural roads and major freeways and are printed with vibrant colors on vinyl material. Because the locations are fixed, your message will hit the same commuter daily at about the same time and everyone knows that repetition is the key to advertising success. While driving to and from work, school, entertainment, and shopping, consumers will pass your billboard 50+ times a month. On a freeway or a rural road, you pick the perfect 4R Outdoor location and it’s yours exclusively.

Digital Billboards

4R Outdoor digital billboards display vibrant, visually stunning graphics. Offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner specials? 4R Outdoor digital billboard spots can be changed monthly, weekly, daily, even hourly, at a moment’s notice. Have a limited budget? 4R Outdoor billboards are a cost-effective advertising option because digital spots can be purchased for a shorter term, there are no vinyl print costs, and multiple advertisers share the same location with advertising spots rotating every few seconds. When your spot is displayed, it’s your time to shine. This high tech, relevant, dynamic method of billboard advertising will captivate your customer and immediately go to work for you. All day. All night. All the time.

Benefits of Billboard Advertising

Low Cost per Mile

Cost per mille (also known as “CPM” or “Cost per thousand impressions”) is an advertising term that describes how much it will cost to deliver one thousand impressions from advertisers who see the advertising on displays in a market. CPM is calculated by dividing the total cost of an advertising campaign by (total number of impressions/1000). 

For example, assume an outdoor advertising campaign costs $750 per month and delivers 264,333 impressions per month. The CPM would be $750/(264,333/1000) = $2.84 per thousand impressions. Said another way, $0.00284 or less than 3/10ths of a cent per impression.

Research studies have repeatedly shown that billboard advertisement significantly lowers the cost of advertising. To reach 1,000 people online can cost up to $17.50 per impressions, magazines can cost up to $21.00 per thousand, and spot broadcast or cable can cost $22.00-$25.00 per thousand. At $3.38-$8.65 per thousand per impressions, billboard advertising delivers the same audience at significantly lower cost. 

High Return On Investment

Return on Investment (ROI) tries to directly measure the amount of return on a particular investment, relative to the investment’s cost.  Another way to think of it is “How much profit will we make if we invest in this project? A recent global econometrics study proved that billboard advertising delivers a high return on investment. For every $1.00 spent on billboard advertising, $2.80 in sales results.

Extend Reach

Reach is the approximate percentage of a target audience’s population which will be potentially exposed to an outdoor billboard advertising message or ad at least once during a specified period of time. While most media planners know billboard advertising is cost efficient, many don’t know that it can dramatically improve the reach of other media at a lower cost. When billboard advertising is added to a media plan, it can increase reach by 18% and up to 316% for mobile advertising. 

OUR BILLBOARD LOCATIONS

4R Outdoor has more than 100 years of experience developing  800 new faces and signs in 9 different states. We are aggressively expanding our reach and adding new billboard locations. Please contact us to learn more about leasing one of our billboard locations today!

do you want to work with us?

If you are interested in liberating trapped value on your land or growing your business with outdoor advertising, reach out to 4R Outdoor today to get started!

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